A joint statement on the announcement of the 2021 Abel Prize Laureates from the Embassies of Hungary, Israel, and the United States of America:


Today, the Abel Prize for 2021 was awarded to Professor László Lovász of the Alfréd Rényi Institute of Mathematics (ELKH, MTA Institute of Excellence) and Eötvös Loránd University, Hungary and Israel-born Professor Avi Wigderson of the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton University, United States by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.


They received this award for their “foundational contributions to theoretical computer science and discrete mathematics, and their leading role in shaping them into central fields of modern mathematics.”


We are proud to see the achievements and benefits that scientific research and international collaboration contribute to our global society and warmly congratulate both Abel Prize Laureates for winning this prestigious award.